Kydex knife sheath business

I am a retired vet looking for a way to supplement my monthly income. To this end I have recently spent about $5000 for supplies and equipment and MANY hours teaching myself the skill of working with kydex. I have just recently gotten to the point where I am quite proficient at making a marketable product, i.e.kydex sheaths. My problem is that I'm not having much luck in the area of marketing/advertising. I initially decided to give away a few hundred dollars worth of sheaths in order to promote my business and get my name out there. I've been advertising on Craigslist and in one of our free advertising papers (the paper is free but not the advertising) as well as a couple free advertising web sites. My problem is that people aren't responding very well and the few that do are asking for some very strange sheaths for very different items (example: an ulu knife and 14" kniife) when I specifically advertisied for doing blades 8" or less. People are seeing my ads and digging up old knives they have laying around that they want sheaths for but these are people who are not condusive to spreading the word of my business by mouth, which is my end goal as I have spoken to several people who do this successfully and they say word of mouth is how they get most of their business. Can anyone suggest what I might do promote my business successfully? Any help would be more than greatly appreciated.

Knifemaker/Craftsman membership here... where better to build your name & sell your product than the place the knife knuts spend their time (and money).

Once you've got the right membership, you can use a few sheaths for popular knives in passarounds, requesting feedback/reviews from the participants, (offering participants a discount on a sheath, available after they've posted their feedback, is a nice touch). Host contests for giveaways. Etc.