Kydex substitution

Are there any other plastics that can be heated to replace kydex? Formica, clear plastics etc? Might be nice to practice on something else or made cheap kitchen knife blade protectors. I am a respiratory therapist in a hospital and had a patient that is messes up for life from heating PVC making those australian musical tubes, digeradoo<can't spell that one. Toxic fumes from heating the plastic. Loosearrow

Their is "Concealex" but it is a PVC/Acrylic blend and wouldn't help you.

I've known people that made some interesting sheaths from camo-ducktape! not bad looking and easy.

My best suggestion is to contact a sheath maker, like; http://rainwalker15.googlepages.com/index.html

he is a very nice guy and would answer your emails fast.

I just posted in another thread asking if detergent bottles couldn't be used as a substitute. :confused: Once I get my heat gun, I'll post results. :D

Jim L.

Are there any other plastics that can be heated to replace kydex? Formica, clear plastics etc? Might be nice to practice on something else or made cheap kitchen knife blade protectors. I am a respiratory therapist in a hospital and had a patient that is messes up for life from heating PVC making those australian musical tubes, digeradoo<can't spell that one. Toxic fumes from heating the plastic. Loosearrow

Kydex fumes and PVC are entirely different. To stand over burning plastic is a bit odd.

Kydex fumes and PVC are entirely different. To stand over burning plastic is a bit odd.

......"burning plastic" ?

This is from WIKIPEDIA:
Kydex is a line of thermoplastic acrylic-polyvinyl chloride alloy sheet grades. It is frequently used as an alternative to leather in the production of firearm holsters and sheaths for knives. Kydex Thermoplastic Sheet is a registered trademark of Kleerdex Company, LLC and is the only manufacturer of this line of proprietary thermoplastic sheet.