Lets talk spears, need to source a spear shaft--

Got a Windlass 24" hewing spear and then had Creger leather works put a convex edge and make a good leather sheath for it.

Need input from folks on what kind of wood to use for a spear shaft, how long, how thick, etc.

So far I have a 8' poplar dowel from Lowes of questionable durability.

I seem to have an itch to have a melee weapon that can be used to keep multiple human opponents at bay and be capable of killing dangerous fauna if needed

131xB9Z.jpg

Fantastic sheath from Creger Leatherworks!
vad6lRT.jpg

At 24" inch, by itself it can be a short sword!
zT3NS03.jpg

Wow! What a cool piece. I didnt know they made them? Id use a natural piece of wood with the large diameter at the front and tapered down to the back like a javelin. I would think like an arrow or Atlatl dart you want it front heavy with an appropriate FOC. Im no expert as you already know but I think they would fly much better that way. Im thinking dogwood, hickory, yew, oak... I think if it was a straight dowel id taper the tail end of it down a bit to move the CG to the front. Looks like a copy of a Zulu spear. Thats cool. Ill be following this thread:thumbup:

Uh...Thinking for just a second...I dont think you have to worry bout being front heavy. Looks like its going to be that way anyway being 24 inches. Dohhhh!

7-8 feet is length I'm thinking of.

Thats what im thinking too. See that point i have in my signature? Thats what I want to do with that. Same thing. I have an 8 foot Ragweed stalk drying out now and if its strong enough after drying I will haft it with sinew and pitch. Its pretty light tho. I would think with that much steel on the front you would want something a bit stronger like cedar, oak or something like I mentioned before. A heavy hardwood might make the whole weapon too heavy to handle. Just my thoughts. I got to get more educated on spears myself.