Lots of Scrap, Whatever Can We Do?

Horsewright

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I've been using water buffalo leather (veg tan) for a few years now. Its a great strap/belt leather and I've gone through quite a bit of it.

About 6 months back I noticed that chrome tan (chap type leather) water buffalo was now available. I ordered some up for a chap project and it rapidly became very popular. I've since made four pairs of shotgun chaps, three pairs of chinks and two pairs of charmitas:

Shotgun chaps:

oxqhOvd.jpg

pFjCptk.jpg

Chinks:

ksx0WFL.jpg

fsIDcjR.jpg

Charmitas:

niZ9mgd.jpg

sPJnZcg.jpg

Its attributes? Well its relatively inexpensive about $3.60 a square foot. Its a beautiful "broke in" medium brown that folks really like. It has a great texture and a wonderful feel. It breathes very well in hot conditions and keeps ya warm in cold, so its very comfortable and it drapes very well. It might be the perfect chap leather.

Its detractions? Well the sides are small. About 15 square feet. So in making any kind of leggings I need two sides, one for each leg. The problem is ya get ya a pretty big pile of scrap built up pretty fast. What ya gonna do with it? Thought I'd share some of the things we've come up with:

One of the first things I came up with was for lining on my Rangeflap holsters. I was already using the belt water buffalo scraps for the flap strap and also the belt loop on the back:

4YQnFpm.jpg

8s1Vdfw.jpg

My one concern here was how well would it edge. It did great as long as it has the firmness of the veg tan backing.

Needed to make up some buckaroo folding knife pouches.

WMPkIE4.jpg

nKTiOww.jpg