Making Kukri Sheath

Hi. I have a H.I. WWII model kukri with an 11" blade, is 16.5 overall and a spine thickness of 3/8".

I want to try my hand at making a sheath for it. It will be a sheath for both the kukri and a small companion knife thats about 7" overall. Also with a pocket for small items. And I need black leather.

I found a tutorial that says for larger knifes to go with 8-9oz leather. Should I use that or thicker for a knife of this size? And I saw a few posts on Blade forums to use shoulder leather.

And I am guessing I need a piece 12" by 24" if only sold by the foot. That sound right?

Wickett-Craig seems to be a popular leather supplier. But I don;t seem to see shoulders. What am I looking for here? And at the top of the page I see prices over $100. Thats for a very large piece, right? I am guessing what I want would be around $20 or so, right?

And www.appalachianleather.com seems to have good prices. Are they any good?

I have never worked (or bought) leather before. SO I don;t really know what to look for.

Thank you for any help.

Wicket and Craig only sells whole sides(avg 25 square feet) that I know of. Leather is sold by the square foot, so anytime you buy a piece of leather you are paying for how many square feet the whole piece is. You would be better off finding a Tandy Leather Store in your area and picking up a single shoulder for like $30-$40 which should have enough leather for your project.

I primarily use 8oz leather for all my sheaths, and 4 oz for pouches, pockets and whatnot.

If you do find a pre dyed black leather, it may be stiffer than an undyed piece. After dyeing the leather tends to stiffen up a bit. Just make sure you awl and cutting knives are sharp(and I mean screaming sharp, the sharper you get them the easier your project will be).

I hope this helps, I am sure some of the other very knowledgable leather workers will help you out.

I am working on a kukri sheath in leather right now.