Millions for bush crafting but not one cent for the kitchen

Millions for bushcrafting but not one cent for the kitchen
I am going to start this off with some honesty. I am a kitchen guy. Blame Ethan Becker for this, I do. If I am going to be honest, I have to say I was a kitchen guy, long before I was a knife guy. There is some back story so bear with me as that I am getting paid by the word. My oldest came in to this world too soon and sickly when we were able to bring him home someone was going to have to stay with him. At the time I was a full time student and my wife traveled a lot with work. I was faced with the easiest important decision I ever made. I dropped out of school, watched “Mr. Mom’ one more time, and reported for duty, and yes, the pun was intended. It was not long before I realized that though demanding, the stay at home gig was not going to overly tax my admittedly limited mental abilities. With a kid who slept a lot and the realization that my fine dining days were on indefinite hold, I pulled down the Joy of Cooking and opened it to page 1. Well really it was more like page 36 or something as there are a lot of introductions and tables and stuff. Anyway, that was the first expensive passion that Mr. Becker led me into. I am not kidding, go look it up. I will wait, his name is right there on the cover and everything.
I came to knife making wanting to make kitchen knives, but the only person that I could apprentice with made bushcrafting knives so I made bushcrafting knives. I am now a knife maker on my own and have never forgotten about the kitchen. As I have learned to appreciate I good knife and what a valuable tool one is, I have seen a troubling disconnect.