my blades are sharper towards the tip

Another duh moment for me. I've been working with my new Kershaw Link M390, first reprofiling to 13-14° per side with the KME and a full roster of diamond stones and then using the Sharpmaker with brown, fine, and ultrafine rods to micro bevel the edge at 15°. In testing the edge after this sequence I thought the blade toward the tip was much sharper than the segment toward the choil. Long story short, I have been neglecting the near segment. Looking at my American Lawman I found the same inequity. The impediments of the plunge line and/or thumb stud and the desire not to abrade the front of the handle as well as my inattention have resulted in my neglect of this portion of the blade. I have reworked the Link with satisfactory results, though it could be better. Future resharpening of all of my knives will, I hope, concentrate on correcting this error.

What was your general method of sharpening the neglected portion? I am a relative beginner sharpener and I sometimes find I unintentionally avoid sharpening the tips of my knives. Do you concentrate on the dull parts separately or go over the entire blade making sure to include the more dull section?

More the latter and I use a lot of sweeping "fore to aft" strokes to try to blend the segments.

M390, first reprofiling to 13-14° per side with the KME and a full roster of diamond stones
I'm with you so far :thumbsup:
Lusting, lusting . . .
Just go to the edge that way; what's with all the back tracking on the other stuff ? Oh . . . the angle thing.
See Cliff Stamp on YouTube for how he spaces up the corner of the Sharpmaker to dial in the angle. Or not.

The impediments of the plunge line and/or thumb stud and the desire not to abrade the front of the handle
I hear you. It is possible to remove the thumb stud.
Then add heavy coat of tape on the handle near the blade.