Need dog advice

We've been thinking some time about getting a dog.
My daughter is 2 and a half years old.
I love cats but I'm allergic to them... so, a dog it is.

My wishlist:
* As little hair shedding as possible (hmm is shedding a word? well.. hair dropping then)
* I'm not fond of smelly dogs, drooling dogs, or dogs with fat/greasy fur ...
* Smart. Easy to train.
* The dog must be SAFE considering it will be my daughters plaything (Not that she's rough, she's actually very gentle but you know what I mean)
* The dog should be active, no couch potato. Social. Happy.
* It will be a bitch.
* It must mutilate any threat to my daughter.. :)

My wife wants one of these:
http://phoenixatc.net/Belle_Beau.JPG
.. but what use will that be in a tactical situation? :)

I'm not looking for a big monster of a dog, just something.. normal-sized.
But it must also be cute and cuddly and playful or it will not be accepted by wife.

What say you?

Edit: I have little or none previous experience with dogs.

Considering what you've said, and if I had a daughter and were looking for a suitable dog, I'd pick an American pitbull/Staffordshire terrier, or Fila Braziliera.

But you'd need to be very experienced with dogs.

Anyway, I'd say you should look at possibly a Boxer. That sounds just about right for you.
Esav had one many years ago, and I remember Ken COx mentioned he had one too(or has one now?). Maybe they'll chime in.(not esav, he's not here due to computer problems)

You also might want to spend some time perusing this site. You'll get all the info you want here on ALL dogs. Photos, temperament info, grooming, health problems, life span, etc , etc.

http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/abc.htm

I'm always on that site, just for fun.(I'm a pitbul nut, but I really love all dogs at the end of the day)

Good luck. Also, check out your local shelter, and take your daughter with you. The dog you want just might be wating for you there.