Need help picking out first Gyuto

I’ve been lurking here for a while trying to make a decision on which Gyuto will be my first “high quality” kitchen knife, but I feel I need a little more information.

I’ve been cooking for 20+ years, 10+ professionally, and I’ve never pulled the trigger on what I would call a nice knife. I’ve had some cheaper Wustofs and Henckels, but nothing too special. I’ve started a new job in an upscale kitchen and seeing others with high end knives makes me want my own.

I’ve been watching YouTube vids and lurking here trying to figure out what Japanese makers are considered the “best”. It seems like there are quite a few good makers, but what would be your list of top 5 if you had to pick?

I’m trying to stay under $500 and the one maker there seems to be consensus on, Masamoto, is in such high demand that finding an 8” Gyuto by him is going to be a challenge. So this leads me to try to find some other makers to choose from. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
I would recommend visiting the Chefknivestogo forum.
Thats what I did a few months ago, which lead me to the Gyuto that I purchased.
I spent just under $300.00 for a very nice knife.

Masamoto Sonhonten is a famous brand, not a one man operation. Nothing wrong with that, just that they're made in a multi-person factory/workshop setting.

Ask at kitchenknifeforums (KKF) and chefknivestogoforums (CKTG) but beware that both forums have certain biases. CTKG is heavily biased towards the brands carried by the retailer that runs the forums, and KKF has their own biases.

If you have colleagues that are willing to let you use their knives, maybe worth asking them if you could try them out. Knife preference is extremely personal. A knife that I love to use might be a knife that you hate to use.