Need some sharpening advise please

Although I've owned and used all kinds of budget knives in the decades past, I've never really sharpened them. This year I've taken up an interest in higher quality knives and have been enjoying this new interest.

I'm also new to knife sharpening. After going through plenty of reviews, I picked up the following from Worksharp, which each have thousands of positive reviews:

20200810-222731314-i-OS.jpg

Long story short, I've followed the instructions and although I see "some" improvement, my knives aren't nearly as sharp as the brand new ones I get from Spyderco, Zero Tolerance etc. I've tried doing it over and over, and I do follow the instructions to the tee, but my knives really don't get sharp.

I would like them to be like factory sharp... where I can slice through a paper with ease and no snags. In particular, I have a used 3" XM-18 that gets "a little" sharp, but nowhere near as sharp as my new ZT's or Sypdercos. What can I do??

Any advise is most appreciated -- thank you!

Take those two gadgets and throw them as far as you can, then invest in a set of bench hones (preferably diamond) or one of several guided sharpening systems. The Maintenance, Tinkering and Embellishment forum here is a good place to learn more about sharpening -- do a search. There are several excellent books on sharpening, too -- do a Googlesearch.