new apprentice in the fiddleback family

Hello all my name is Dan and I am an apprentice with Andy at Fiddleback. Working with Andy I have learned a lot of the theory behind why he makes his blades and handles the way he does, and that alone has been priceless knowledge. Now that I am starting to work on my own designs in Andy's shop, and I would be grateful for the opportunity to learn from those of you at (if you will forgive a bad pun) " the pointy end". I was wondering what one thing made you choose a fiddleback over other knives? and in what way do you use them?

Thank you for your time, and with y'alls help the next time Andy looks over my shoulder he will say great idea

Dan

Get Andy to bring you up to Trackrock the end of next month and we'll mess with your mind a bit more.
Won't hurt.......much!

I was wondering what one thing made you choose a fiddleback over other knives? and in what way do you use them?

Andy's knives are functional pieces of art and beauty. His handles are some of the best I have ever seen and therefore, I have 6 of his knives. I mainly use them for camping and hunting activities. My wife uses my Bow Legged Joe Belt Knife for crafting stuff and it works really well but I hate seeing it used to cut lace and fabric!!

Hi Dan. One thing? I guess his unique handle design/construction. Layered micarta, woods, bolsters, etc...just looks cool.

However it's not just one thing. It's quality materials, a size/design for most every purpose from Runt to machete, comfortable fit in the hand for extended use, excellent craftmanship, and a knife that will last longer than I will.

Mine are used for everything from yard work, bushcraft, to hunting. Some are kinda plain, some fancier, but none has ever failed, and they are dependable. And for some reason, I always want another one... ;)