New Member: Q&..?A?

Hello Folks!
I found this forum searching the intranet for "how to" information on making custom bone handles for knives. I have always had an appreciation for knives; more so than the firearms I collected in past years. I remember as a child my uncle who was a knife collector/dealer would always roll out his sleeves of folding knives to show me. It has been an interest and love affair since.
I must admit I know nothing of the craft or skill of custom knife making. Although it is something I'd love to do, I've always felt it was something passed down, or aquired on an apprentice level....and not self taught or learned.
However, I am taking on a project...although not one of a purist nature, it will be my first piece. I have a set or rack from a whitetail, I kept it because I had always had a thing for bone handled knives. And the fit-to-hand quality of the base of the antler was great.
I recently found an old knife (tossing some roofing material out at the local landfill) it is made by the Krusius Brothers of Germany of Solingen steel with a blade length of approximately 4 1/2 inches. It was lying on the ground when I noticed it, and I tossed it in my truck bed. It had the top part of the handle broken off at the threads, the pommel was gone and the majority of the leather spacers were in bad shape. So I stripped them off (keeping them).
The blade was a little rusted (surface) but no major pitting at all.
I used some fine grit sand paper to remove the surface rust and brighten it up (should I have done that?).
What I would like to do, is polish the blade to remove small pits or scratches, ect. And return it to a decent shine. And work this piece of deer antler to fashion a handle.
I've been in western Canada now for 5 years, and would like to have this as a reminder of my time here. And to give to my little boy when he's older.