New to Sharpening... Need help!

Hello all, I am new to high end knives. I pretty much threw away knives when they were really dull or sharpened them with one of my cheap, hand held "V" sharpeners.

Now I have an Izula 2 and it is crazy sharp. I want to learn how to keep it that way and maybe sharpen up some of my old knives. Plus I have a feeling ill buy more high end knives in the future.

So I'm looking for a sharpening system. I want it to be easy, relatively cheap, and not require a ton of learning. And I want it to make my knives really sharp too!

Thanks for the help and sorry for the "newbie" question, but I'm a newbie!

Being a "downhill trucker", if you want a good non powered system without spending the price of a good steering axle tire, then look into the Lansky systems. Not a lot of money to get into, and easily learned how to use after playing on some cheap beater knives. They come in regular stones, and the diamond stones kits. My preference if I were buying one would be the diamond kit with a couple of their ceramic polishing stones in fine and extra fine.
Watch a few on line video's as to how to use them, and read up on here and ask questions as needed, and you will be good to go.
By the way, I am a retired over the road trucker, and feel for you and all those "hills". Keep her right side up and between the lines!
Blessings,

Omar

Hello trucker welcome to the forums!
I'd say somthing made by lansky would be your best bet there around $30/$50
It will take care of your sharpening needs. very easy to use I'd name a model but ther are countless threads about it.
Then when (not if its only a mater of time) you start buying $100+ knives I'd invest in a sharp maker or a edge pro.

best of luck to ya!

Why Omar............why?
Every time I start typing I type to slow and it looks like I'm copying someone.

Why Omar............why?
Every time I start typing I type to slow and it looks like I'm copying someone.