Newbie question on blade coating....

Hi, Im new to this, so plez bear with me.

I checked out some CASiberia and Bugei swords, they all have a thick film of coating close to the edge. Can anyone tell me what exactly are these?? Are they just for preventing rust?? Would i destory the hamon if i rub off the coating??
Thanks a lot.

I don't recall my cas iberia Chen having a coating.Basically you wipe it down with a nice soft rag with a quality oil.I cleaned mine up with some flitz polish to remove the dark acid etching on the hamon, leaving the natural look of the hamon.I polished fairly thoroughly and did not present any problems.I don't think you could destroy a hamon since it goes through the whole blade,but you might be able to over polish it.good luck,Ralph

From my understanding, the hamon does not go all the way through the blade. But it does take a significant amount of surface material to "remove it"

However, the effects of polishing compounds like flitz or simichrome will burnish the surface of the material, which is what you do not want. That effect smears over the steel and *will* mask the hamon. You don't polish these kinds of blades with a wheel and polishing compound...unless the blade has nothing interesting to look at anyway.

Just use enough flitz/simichrome to remove the oxides from the surface and restore a moderately reasonable finish. From edge-to-ridgeline (in that order), you should have yakiba being lighter colored, the habuchi/hamon should be brightest, but not overwhelming...and then the ji to the shinogi (ridgeline) should be darkest. If you want to use the simichrome/flitz to burnish the shinogi-ji (sides of blade from ridgeline to spine) and mune (spine), you can, but I wouldn't really suggest it giving the quality of the finish in the first place.

All ya really need to do is take those oxides off and restore some of the real beauty of yakiire, even if it's a hideous togari
biggrin.gif

Shinryû.