Photos Old/New 730

As I stated before I’m relatively new to the black hole of knives. Always had a few
but never understanding what makes a knife 50 bucks vs 500. This winter I’ve had a break from my other hobby (sporting clays) while having a gun worked on, so I started learning. I want to share this knife as it has an interesting (at least to me) story. In January of this year I was browsing ebay and came across a listing for a benchmade 730 Elishewitz. It was a listing from a pawnshop that was close to me. They were not getting any bids due to the knife was in bad shape. I stopped in and took a look. I’ve wanted an axis lock knife at the time and I liked the color of the scales and the full metal liners. I didn’t like the overwhelming rust and the fact the knife was so gummed up with crap it would barely open and the clip was gone. I figured I’d make an offer and try to clean it up and use it as a beater. I bought it for a fraction of the ebay asking price and took it home. I got the action working after a cleaning but there were a lot of blade issues. I called Benchmade for advice. I told them how I got it and the current issues. They recommended the cleaning and sharpening service (at the time I knew nothing about the warranty). After having it for a while I was contacted and told the rust on the blade was unfixable. All other issues were covered by the warranty. I was given the option of having it sent “as is” or replacing the blade for 30 bucks. Not being a collector I jumped on the blade replacement.