Older Japanese Tanto Question

I have been fortunate enough to receive a very nice tanto in shira-saya from friend and knifemaker Sava Damlovac.

View

The yokote doesn't show up in pic well, but it's there, as is a very nice hamon. Two piece habaki. Bamboo mekugi. The tang is not signed.

Sava estimates the piece to be from somewhere between the 17th and 19th centuries.

OAL is 15.5" (16.75" in scabbard).

I'm new to these blades though I've long admired them.

Any and all info gratefully received.

The info is for my knowledge only. I have no interest in selling this piece.

Thanks,

Blues

------------------
Live Free or Die

Blues' Knife Pix

[This message has been edited by Blues (edited 08-17-2000).]

Blues: Exactly what type of info are you looking for? Kinda difficult to help if I don't know what ya need help with.

Shinryû.

Robert,

Ignorant as I am, any information at all would be helpful.

For example, I'd like to know about this style of blade, if it is of a certain type that was from any particular period.

If it is of a certain region.

What steel may have been commonly used in its manufacture.

Assume you're talking to someone with no background in these blades and you'll be essentially right.
wink.gif

I'm fascinated by the knife and how well it's been kept. Anything that puts me more in touch with it is gratefully appreciated.

Thanks,

Blues

------------------
Live Free or Die

Blues' Knife Pix

Blues:

I'm going to send you an email with some basic information and inquiries to help me help ya out. Since I don't have it in front of me, there's not all that much I can help ya with, but I'll see what I can do.

Shinryû.

Blues,