OT: handguns, chime in with opinions please

OK guys, I got out of debt and I am looking for a handgun for home defense and occasional carry. I want a .45 acp. I have it narrowed down to three options. A Springfield 1911, a Sig 220 or a HK USP45. What are your guys opinions?

Bob, any of them you listed would get the job done in spades. Get what you can afford and practice with it regular, the gun's only as good as the guy holding it. My $169 Bulgarian Makarov will put all rounds in the head of a silhouette target at twenty five meters, but only after burning up some ammo gaining proficiency with it.

Sarge

Figure out how much weight you want to carry and for how long. Then figure out how light you can go and still shoot. There's an entire breed of .45 shorties you may wish to examine.

I own a .45 1911 Springfield. I'd probably get a Kimber today. That sig 220 is real nice. I have no experience with the HK. It is highly rated.

munk

As the Sarge said, any of those will work, as will pretty much any good-quality handgun. Go for the one that fits your hand the best and feels most comfortable. I used to use 1911s but have switched to Glocks for simplicity. So I'd suggest looking at a Glock 21, 30, or 36 if you haven't. The 36 is a slimmer single-stack design.

Of your 3 I'd probably go with the 1911, and take a look at Kimber. The HK USP45 just always seemed huge to me for what it does. The compact version is a little better. Lots of people like Sigs but they've never done much for me, I don't like the decocker/double action on any pistol. But I've never used a 220.