Perhaps the worst enemy of any knife is rust.

kyle007

BANNED
I am no expert on sharpening the blades of a knife. I have my old standby KA-BAR and several stainless and carbon steel pocket/folder knives that I may carry daily. I have the Lansky 3 stone system I got a long time ago but it is a pain to sharpen multiple knives at one sitting.

I was curious as to the best method and how to properly put and keep an edge on these knives. The stainless steel blades seem to be the toughest to keep the edge sharp. I didn't have the luxury of purchasing high end knives at the time.
w.png

Modern knife steel is very high quality material, but all metal will corrode through time. Occasionally oil the joints and springs of a pocket knife with a drop or two of oil. This will assure easier opening and closing and will prevent rust and lessen wear. Wipe the blades now and then with an oil-moistened cloth to prevent rust- especially if you live in a damp climate or close to the ocean. If your blade should get wet, dry it thoroughly. If your knife comes into contact with salt water or any substance you are not certain about, you should rinse it immediately with tap water, dry it and apply a light coat of oil.

Do not store knives in their sheaths. The leather collects moisture and creates pits on the blade.

Check the locking notch of lockbacks regularly to ensure that it will work properly. Keep all sand and grit out of the knife. Keep the mechanisms clean. Remember to never rely on a folding knife to be permanently locked in position.

Do not use the cutting blade as a can opener, chisel, pry bar, screwdriver or for any heavy work for which your knife was not designed. Also, don't use the back of your knife as a hammer. It may break the springs, handles or pin.
w.png