Pistols or Revolvers

OK here's the deal.
I'm really interested in Mr. Caracci's opinion, but feel free to pipe in. For pure defense which one is better. As I see it the revolver is better for several reasons. For one the revolver is more compact and is therefore easier to conceal and manipulate. Also I beleive that they are much more reliable. Their is virtually nothing to go wrong with the revolvers short of "Operator Error". The only drawbacks that I can think of are increased recoil and fewer rounds. But then again if I cant hit what I'm aiming for with 6 or however many rounds than I probably shouldn't be shooting. Having said all that I have had little experience with either so any advice would be appreciated.

I have run the gambit, owning .45 autos and .357 revolvers, and if I were expecting to go into a REALLY nasty fight, like open warfare, then I would probably want an auto (second to a rifle).

Now having said that, my current house/carry piece is a .357 S&W.

The reason is I don't expect to ever be on an open battlefield, and for normal criminal repellent, I figure this one will do just fine.
I have put so many rounds through it that it feels like a part of my hand when I pick it up.

It's the weapons system that counts, Not the "weapon".

Whatever gives the operator means (physical, mental, psychological, emotional) to effect his objectives is a correct choice.

Sounds as if you like revolvers.

Means you might practice more with one...
be more skilled/accurate...
know your weapon's strengths/weaknesses...
be able to "trust" your ability to neutralize the target...
have the confidence to employ violence of action when it is neeeded.

All of these things improve the weapons system, and have little to do with the "weapon of choice".

It is possible to debate endlessly about "handgun A is better because of it's widget architecture." and that's great fun.