Plain Edge Steak Knives?

Do you have plain edge steak knives and if so how do you preserve the edges in use? I have ordered a pair of teak wood steak servers and am considering also getting a set of plain edge sharp steak/table knives from Opinel. Getting tired of the saw edged poor excuses for knives generally sold as steak knives.

We use the "saw edged poor excuses for knives..." quite successfully. I have a set of full tang Kutmaster steak knives from the 70's that are still going string. A little touch up on the serrations from time to time and they work just great. Personally, while I don't care for serrated edges on my outdoor knives or kitchen knives, I like them on a steak knife. I think you'd have to continually sharpen a plain edge steak knife considering the surface the steak is usually on - china or metal.

I don't really understand the complaints about cheap serrated steak knives. Their purpose is to cut the steak into small enough pieces for me to eat, I've never had any problem at all doing that with any steak knife I've ever used, it's not even difficult to cut steak with a butter knife if you have to.

Would you consider buying some wooden boards to serve as plates? Your knives will keep their edge longer and it looks all manner of manly... :)

Unless you're using plastic or wooden plates I don't think you'd really actually prefer plain edge steak knives if you actually tried to use them.
The serrations tips dull, but they are there so that the actual cutting edge does not touch the dulling surface.
Also, even a moderately dull serrated knife will still out slice a plain edge when cutting steak in my experience, you can have a knife be super thin at the cutting edge and hair shaving sharp like the Benchmade 746 but it will not cut through as easily.

Of course if you've got good steak and you're cooking your steak properly you shouldn't need steak knives...but this is a knife forum not a cooking forum and we do like our knives here ;)