How To Please help me sharpen my Sebenza 21.

My large Sebenza 21 was dull out of the box and I decided to purchase the sharpmaker triangle to sharpen it. I’m a beginner I’m sharpening so I used my Buck 110 first on the 40 degree side with the rougher stones then switched to the ceramic. I got it sharp enough to shave and slice though paper easily so I then moved on to my Sebenaza and did the same thing. I ended up rounding the tip and having little to no effect on the sharpness of the edge.

Can someone recommend maybe an alternative system better for beginners that doesn’t involve me holding the knife like I do on the Sharpmaker?

It’s really bothering me that the knife I’m carrying as my EDC has a rounded tip and is dull.

My large Sebenza 21 was dull out of the box and I decided to purchase the sharpmaker triangle to sharpen it. I’m a beginner I’m sharpening so I used my Buck 110 first on the 40 degree side with the rougher stones then switched to the ceramic. I got it sharp enough to shave and slice though paper easily so I then moved on to my Sebenaza and did the same thing. I ended up rounding the tip and having little to no effect on the sharpness of the edge.

Can someone recommend maybe an alternative system better for beginners that doesn’t involve me holding the knife like I do on the Sharpmaker?

It’s really bothering me that the knife I’m carrying as my EDC has a rounded tip and is dull.

Sebenza forum, maintenance forum, or even the spyderco forum would me more relevant. This sub is dedicated to traditional knives.

Sebenza’s come with a slight convex edge. It will take longer to reshape the edge to a true V grind using the sharpmaker. The tip can be fixed also. To prevent rounding the tip, don’t continue to pull the blade off the stone. The tip has to be stopped on the stone and not pulled off, if that makes any sense. I’ve rounded tips using a narrow stone and not realizing that that’s what caused the tip to become rounded.