Q: working G-10 with woodworking hand tools

aram

Gold Member
Excuse me if this has been asked before and my searches missed it.

On the scale of this forum, I'm not a knife knut. But I am a reasonably skilled woodworker, with an emphasis on hand tools.

I just bought a BM Adamas 375, did the paracord wrap, now thinking it might be fun to make scales for it. I could use hardwood scraps, maybe bubinga, but I think G-10 would be a good match for this knife. All I know about it is what I read online. I get the impression that it shapes nicely with quality rasps, and won't destroy them -- is that true? What about cutting tools, such as spokeshaves? Does G-10 lend itself to shavings? On the power tool side, it can be routed, correct?

Thanks in advance,
Aram

G-10 is basically fiberglass, it will destroy cutting tools in very short order. Micarta is much more suited to hand shaping with the tools you've mentioned;)

~Chip

G-10 is basically fiberglass, it will destroy cutting tools in very short order. Micarta is much more suited to hand shaping with the tools you've mentioned;)

~Chip
Excellent, thank you.

To my eye, micarta would be too refined and elegant for a bash-around knife like the 375. Maybe hardwood is a better choice. Anyway, thank you for that information. No way am I going to trash my hand tools! (I hand-made my favorite spokeshave, by the way, so....)

Aram

Canvas phenolic (CE) is considered the perfect match for a hard use knife by a lot of people. Maybe you're thinking of glossy buffed paper (X) phenolic?

Canvas phenolic (CE) is considered the perfect match for a hard use knife by a lot of people. Maybe you're thinking of glossy buffed paper (X) phenolic?