Question about galvanic corrosion

Stropping Young Lad

Gold Member
So I’m not a chemist, and I’m only an aspiring knife maker, but I have some background in mechanical design, and this question has been bugging me.

When is galvanic corrosion a problem?

I don’t ever see it happening, even on older knives with dissimilar metals touching. Ruana knives have aluminum and steel touching all over the place. Brass guards are very common. Western used steel pins in aluminum pommels like it was nothing... so is it nothing? When is it something to be concerned about?

If the object is in standing salt water it galvanic corrosion can for sure be a problem. With dry between the different metals it's usually not a problem.

If the object is in standing salt water it galvanic corrosion can for sure be a problem. With dry between the different metals it's usually not a problem.

So a brass pin in an aluminum pommel is really only a problem if you take it off shore fishing?

Metals will interact in the presence of a "stimulant" (water, salt water, vinegar) but it's not necessarily a problem typically. When I built our teardrop trailer, I used stainless steel fasteners to attach moldings & trim to the aluminum skins & there have been no problems with this system. It's fine in the rain, in the sun & for general towing out on the roads. If it sat in water, salt water, or was in a wet coastal climate all the time it would start to work against itself, but that would take some time.

Drop a "stainless steel" blade in salt water for a week & it may begin to rust & pit. Left out in the air, no problems.

If you want to see some galvanic corrosion, use brass screw-cups under the screws used to fasten galvanised fittings outdoors. The screw cups provide a little reservoir that holds water long enough for the reaction to work. It takes time. Also, in the examples of aluminum against brass or steel, it would be the aluminum that would corrode, not the brass or steel.