Randall Miniature Knives

Meerkat4848

Gold Member
Could someone please take the time to educate me on a topic I am very much interested in: Randall Mini's

I would like to know the following:

How many were made and in what quantities and what year(s) they were made?

Regarding the mini 18's - How many were produced and what years? I have seen some knurled handles and some smooth handles. Which came first. I have seen some with brass hilts and end caps and silver hilts and silver end caps.

I have scoured the internet and can't seem to find too much info. ANY and ALL info on the mini's would be appreciated.

I understand there are some fakes out there. Anyone have any pictures of those?

Thanks!

Well, I'm no expert but the mini model 25's were made in mid to late 1990's. I think between 96-98. They made 1500 and they are valued by collectors.

Here's my Mini 25, serial #1282

And with his big brother

The most recent minis to be made were the Model 27's. they also did 14's and others but someone else will have to chime in because I've exhausted my limited knowledge.

Wow beautiful knives! Thank you for the pictures.

This is the limited information I have gathered thus far:

Model 25 1996 - ? 1500 made
Model 1 1998 - ? 1500 made
Model 3 2002 - ? 1500 made
Model 14 2004 - ? 3000 made
RKS5 2004 1500 made
Model 27 2012

Model 18?????
Model 2?????

Any others?

The Model 2, like the Model 12 and 13 seemed to be a "once in a while" produced miniature spanning the mid 60's to the mid 80's.
The Model 18 was made from the early 70's to the late 80's. The total production is estimated at around 300 pieces. They came with Johnson riveted "C" sheaths, non riveted "C" sheaths and modified "B" sheaths. They were stamped or etched, came with small yellow cord or standard green cord, had smooth or knurled handles, straight line or knurled caps, and had variations of tooth size and count. And a small number were all stainless.