"Real, live, functional" sword sought...

Hi. I am seriously considering the purchase of a katana. I know that there is huge variation in quality with price. I am looking for something around several hundred dollars, probably no more than $400. I have heard good things about kris cutlery, as well as Paul Chen. I like the appearance of these swords, as I like form AND function. Please advise!

Strati

I have no real experience with Kris cutlery so I will allow someone to speak for or against them.

Cold Steel katana is OK. List $750
Paul Chen - Musashi, Golden Oriole, and Shinto all run about $650
Paul Chen - Practical katana runs about $175

For the money you want to spend though, I would recommend Swordstore.com. This was recommended to me by a friend and their katanas start at $400 to infinity, depending on what you want.

And the more modern katana (which a lot of people hate because it is far from traditional) is the Rob Criswell which runs about $300

Rob's sword is the next one on MY list.

Good luck.

Kris Cutlery's stuff is good for the money, I think they recently raised their prices though. But overall Kris is worth it. If you happen to get a bad one I think they'll even replace it for you.

KC's stuff is great for the $, and yes, if you're not happy with the unit they send, they'll keep replacing it until you are (though you've got to cover shipping).

KC is hard to beat for the dollars. There was also a blacksmith/swordmaker in Mexico that was turning out some nice Katanas for about $250.00. I'll see if I can find his email.

drjones,