Reasons for heat treating before/after grinding main bevels

DrubieG__MimicKnives

Tinkering, modding, knives and edc items
Gold Member
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I noticed in seeing conversations and watching videos of makers, that some people heat treat their blades before they grind the majority of their main bevels. Others do it after. I’m still new to this stuff and have somewhat of an idea about the whys… but I don’t want to leave that in abstraction.

Can some of you makers weigh in on the reasons you do one or the other?

Hand sanding hardened steel is a lot harder then soft steel, also you don't have to worry about ruining the HT.

Grinding post HT gives better grind lines and there is no warping during HT.
Altho I never had any warping of ground blades, even thin blades.
Sanding stones make "hand sanding" hardened steel easier then sandpaper

It depends on the alloy for me.

I grind 90% of my blades pre HT, as I primarily use high wear resistant steels, like S90V, 10V, etc. Grinding and finishing these steels post-HT is an exercise in futility. I use an outside heat treat service that reduces my anxiety over warped blades or bacon edges (even at .010 edge thickness.)

the other 10% are steels such as AEBL that are easier to grind and finish post HT and actually seem to act "better" (less gummy) while grinding post HT.

When grinding post HT do you always have to use a water sprayer or something like dip the blade in water after each pass? Maybe some steels are more susceptible to being further tempered when grinding hot?

pro-tip...add a few drops of dish soap to the water, will diffuse surface tension and allow metal dust to settle to the bottom easier.

Last edited:
A misting/spray setup is a great advantage for any knife shop. Dipping every pass also works.