Refinishing help

I am brand new on the forum, and I need some help. I purchased a set of custom knives made from high carbon Damascus. I received them and was pleased, however they were not very sharp. I sharpened to a shaving quality with my wicked edge, but they still didn’t cut the way I wanted. To me they appear to thick and not tapered enough towards the cutting edge. If I were to attempt to reprofile them could it be done with an orbital sander or would I have to get a small belt sander. Once done I know they would have to be re-etched. I appreciate any Help

I underst
No. Stop.

If you want them thinned down, based on what you've said, just get a pro.

Let's ping Josh.

REK Knives REK Knives
I understand. That’s was my first thought, but it should be noted these were ordered and fabricated from a professional with his own forge etc. I am not familiar with blade smithing and don’t claim to be, but I am a medical professional who has experience with both casting and forging a variety of metals for precision medical devices that have to fit within micrometers to function property. This is pretty simple by comparison, I am just looking to find out what device would make the most sense for me to purchase reduce the blades width by about .5 mm on the spine as well as profile the knives at a more acute angle. The grinds are far too obtuse. All of my equipment is for detailed work and I just wondered if anyone had a recommendation for light duty sander.

I underst