Replacing thumbstuds on Kershaw Storm

kindred_spirits

Gold Member
Hey guys. I like the Kershaw Storm a lot, but the only thing I dislike is the angled sharp thumbstuds. Has anybody replaced these themselves? How difficult is it to do? If I won't be able to do it, how much would it cost for a somebody to do it for me? Thanks.

I replaced both of my Kershaw Vapors thumbstud because they were too pointy to use comfortably...but I have no experience with the Storm, sorry..

I second kindred_spirits questions on the Kershaw Storm thumbstuds- I love the knife (It very quickly became my new EDC at work) but I'd really like to replace them with something that doesn't chew up my thumb quite so much.

~Kris

They do not just unscrew , most of the time they are held fast with loctite.

They do not just unscrew , most of the time they are held fast with loctite.

I just unscrewed the thumbstuds on my Bradley Alias with very little problem. Did I get lucky? I've heard that sometimes you may have to do some strategic heating with a soldering iron. How does one do that? Also, is the blue loctite good enough? That's what I put things back together with on the Alias.

I've gotten lucky like that as well , more not than often though :D

Yea , usually what I will do is take a half paper towel , wet it , wrap it carefully around the blade while keeping the thumbstud exposed and then use a little micro torch to gently heat the stud , then pliers padded with duct tape so as not to mar the stud.

Yea I too use the blue , if you went with red loctite and wanted to do more work on it , you would have a much tougher time getting the parts , apart.

What I did on my own was grind the one on there flat. Then once it was flat and basically as flush to the blade or as close as I could get it without making too much of a mess of things, I drilled a #44 hole right through the old stud and mounted a new one to my liking.