Reprofiling Question

So I have a PM2 in M390 that I received from a friend a while ago. I believe he had it professionally sharpened to 10-12°.

I’m not a fan and usually sharpen my knives to 15-17°. If I want to reprofile to 15-17°, what should my plan of attack be? I sharpen on a KME and have the 50 grit Beast.

Do I set to 15° and just grind away on both sides? Or is there more of a gradual process to get back to the 15°? I have no experience doing this so I prefer feedback before I attempt it. Thanks in advance.

I reprofile with a belt sander. But the process is the same. Just keep at the new angle until you reach the edge. That may mean until you get a bur. I say may because you don't have to raise a bur to sharpen. No argument here about that though. And then flip and repeat. You will very likely end up with a double bevel. As the new edge will end up shorter than the old one as the angle is different. Good luck and it's not rocket science.

Its up to you how fast you want to get to your desired edge angle. For me, I would use the knife at its current angle until it needs sharpening. At that point I would start micro beveling at the desired angle. Over time just keep micro beveling the egde and at some point, may two or three times of doing that you’ll realize it’s time to just fully sharpen the knife and reprofile the edge to the full desired angle.

So I have a PM2 in M390 that I received from a friend a while ago. I believe he had it professionally sharpened to 10-12°.

I’m not a fan and usually sharpen my knives to 15-17°. If I want to reprofile to 15-17°, what should my plan of attack be? I sharpen on a KME and have the 50 grit Beast.

Do I set to 15° and just grind away on both sides? Or is there more of a gradual process to get back to the 15°? I have no experience doing this so I prefer feedback before I attempt it. Thanks in advance.