Rex45 Military or Police 4

Currently debating between the Rex45 Military or Police 4 in K390. I like large folders, and I love sharpening. Both of these models sound amazing, but having a hard time picking between the two of them. Any input you all can give would be great!

Get both!
On a more serious note; what is your planned use?
They are both pretty big but for most ordinary tasks you might get more out of the Millie.

I prefer full liners and options for tip up carry.
So Police 4 for me.

I haven't owned a Police 4 before, but I recommend getting the Military.

I have a few of each but have not played with Rex45 enough to really share any first hand experience. I have plenty of experience with my k390 Mule Team. The sharpen-ability and edge retaining qualities of k390 are incredible. The k390 Police is equally impressive so far. K390 comes to mind for me when I try to think of a favorite steel. Rex45 may be right with it, I just don't have a clue yet.

Steel aside the Military is a bit more user friendly. The Police might need a bit of cleaning, oiling, lock bar tension tuning, and break in before it opens easily enough for my taste. That is not a problem to me.

The Police 4 blade length is over 4" by about 3/8" which can get you into trouble in more areas vs the 4" blade Military.

I have too many Spyderco Military and consider it my favorite model. The Police 4 is not far behind. The Police 4 has a thinner blade and an equally tall grind so it will slice exceptionally well. The Military handle has an edge in ergonomics partly by being the thicker knife.

20190318-124834.jpg

Last edited:
They are quite similar, so difficult to choose. Military is harder, larger Pivot, much larger washers, and easier to flick and maintain. P4 has a longer blade, cool steel for Spyderco, and tough/non-stainless liners.