Rolaids, Tums or Gaviscon?

cj65

Gold Member
Yes,
I know I am not the only heartburn sufferer. I am not good at a daily purple pill, so I resort to late night chewables. I recently thought I would try Gaviscon, thinking it may be better than my Rolaids extra strength peppermint flavored. Gaviscon is at least 2x the price, I thought it would maybe give me longer relief. Wrong! Not only does Gaviscon almost make me vomit due to the flavor, (maybe vomiting is a temporary remedy for acid indigestion), it does not even neutralize as effectively as Rolaids does.

Tums has the Smoothies which IMHO are just as good as the Rolaids. Still prefer mint flavor to fruity flavors.

What say you?

I use Tums and I have pretty bad GERD. in fact, I got aspiration pneumonia due to it. I used to take Prevacid every day or 2 OTC Prilosecs work well also, but since I lost my health insurance, I rely on Tums. Tried the other medications and they do not work very well for me.

I guess that everyone is different, but the mint ones seem to make my acid reflux worse. I use the maximum strength fruit flavored Tums.

If part of your problem is acid reflux at night, try elevating the head of your bed by about eight inches. You won't hardly notice it when you sleep, but it's enough to keep the acid down without any pills or liquids, just gravity.

As suggested, elevating your head helps, although it can be a pain in the neck (literally). I use Nexium which seems to work for all but the worst reflux. I also take Tums Ultra, Tropical Fruit Flavors. They are far and away the best tasting of the chewables. Give 'em a try.

- Mark

If part of your problem is acid reflux at night, try elevating the head of your bed by about eight inches. You won't hardly notice it when you sleep, but it's enough to keep the acid down without any pills or liquids, just gravity.