How To Serrated Blade Sharpening Video

Years ago, Jason B described how he sharpened serrated blades from the flat side and deburred the scalloped side. I've been using this basic technique for several years now and have adapted it to the belt sander.

I have to say, I'm pretty impressed with the results, especially considering the amount of time it takes. This video is more than 10 minutes long, but I think the actual sharpening time is a good bit less than 10. Trying to do individual serrations I think you could easily spent 2 to 4 times as long.

Is this the perfect method? No, not at all. But I think it works pretty well for what it is. I'm happy with it.

Brian.

Excellent video.
Some stainless kitchen knives can be extremely difficult to deburr.

For deburring have you tried a sisal wheel as HeavyHanded recommended? I haven't, but it's on my try eventually list.

For deburring have you tried a sisal wheel as HeavyHanded recommended? I haven't, but it's on my try eventually list.

I have not. I don't yet own a buffer or grinder. I keep thinking about it, but don't have a specific use. Though I've been wanting to polish the plastic handles on worn kitchen knives and was thinking that a cotton wheel with compound would probably do a good job.

For regular (non-serrated) blades I have been using a Very Fine ScotchBrite belt and find that it removes the burr pretty well. I also use rough side leather in conjunction with the VFSB. This helps preserve all of the tooth of a blade sharpened on a coarse belt like the Trizact A100 that I use for a lot of sharpening jobs.

Brian.

This is one of the first ones I used on my set-up after settling on the sisal wheel for deburring - overall a really effective method - I will probably never go back to individually cutting the grind side unless there is a very compelling reason.