Sewing Machine recommendations

mrknives

Gold Member
I've been making sheaths for my knives for a couple years now and am just starting the research for a new sewing machine. I'd like to stay in the 1k -2 k ball park and want to be able to sew liner material as well as the finished sheath outer.
Thanks much!

The Cowboy 3200 will stitch about 1/2 inch under $2,000 delivered. If you think that's the max thickness you will be stitching, then the Cowboy 3200 would be fine.Cobra 3 with the shorter arm length will stitch 3/4 inch. It's over $2,000 delivered. Cobra 4 same as Cobra 3 with longer arm length. Depends on what you want to stitch down the road. Some folks go with the Cobra 4 not to limit themselves on the size of the project you may want to stitch.You can also look for used machines (not so easy to find one) Artisan offers a couple machines as well. There are several members that have the Cobra's, and seem to love them. The after sale support is excellent from what I've been reading. Depending on your location, you can decide who's closer to you and go from there, Cowboy or Cobra. These are heavy stitchers used for stitching thicker leather and multiple pieces. Depending on the thickness of your liner material, you might need to go to a smaller machine such as the Cobra 18 or equivalent.

Last edited:
I've been making sheaths for my knives for a couple years now and am just starting the research for a new sewing machine. I'd like to stay in the 1k -2 k ball park and want to be able to sew liner material as well as the finished sheath outer.
Thanks much!