Sharpening angles

Hi guys,

Just a question on sharpening angles. I use a Lansky sharpening system, which has got fixed angles (3 or 4) at which you sharpen (can't recall the exact angles right now).

Do you guys use different angles for different steels or knife brands, or is it more dependent on the use of the knife?

I am looking for the best angles to sharpen my VG-10 and AUS8 Spydercos (Endura and Walker) and a 154CM Benchmade 910 Stryker, all used for SD only, not utility.

I am pretty new to this sharpening thing, but do have a cheapy to preactice on first.

Thanks for any info.

Schalk Roets:) :confused:

I'm sure others wil jump in, but I believe that spyderco sharpens their vg-10 at 15 deg. (30 if using the sharpmaker 204. it counts each side so the degree is doubled)
generally speaking, most knives are in the 15 to 20 degree range for EDC. The 15 slices better but doesn't hold the edge as long as 20 degrees.

If your main use is to keep them for SD, then I would use a shallow angle, since you'll likely be using it to cut and run. You'll want that one cut to have maximum effect. With a Lansky, I would reccomend using the second setting from the bottom for the Spydercos, or maybe the bottom one. Do a few light passes with the lowest setting to see where the stone is contacting the edge. Look at the scratch pattern the stone leaves. If it's nowhere near the edge, then it's probably too shallow. If it's close to the edge, keep going until the bevels meet. The lowest setting should give you a very sharp, but not a very durable edge.