Slip Joint Centering

I'm new to this sub-forum, so excuse me if this is a topic that's been covered already.

I have a Pena custom slip joint that's got an off center blade, and I was wondering how to go about getting it centered. My first choice would've been to have Pena fix it, but he didn't reply to my email after I sent him a photo of the centering. It's not touching the liners, but centering is something I'm really neurotic about.

I've seen some mention of 'crinking', but I don't know what exactly that involves. I'm also wondering if there's anyone whom I could send the knife to for fixing - I've sent my modern/locking folders to Josh at Razor Edge Knives before, but I don't know of an equivalent service provider in the traditional realm.

Timely!
I just got a slip joint of which blade is off-center as well.
I am following this with a great interest.

Well, Enrique just responded to my email, so hopefully I'll get it fixed that way. Still, if anyone wants to chime in for curiosity's sake and to help miso2, that'd be cool.

Last edited:
I see that tweaking the kick would change the centering, from GEC factory video.
So, I am going to sand the kick for a slip joint knife, of which the blade is not centered.
Can anyone tell me whether I should sane the same side as the blade is biased to?
Or is it the other way around?

Off center does not affect the way it cuts, opens or closes. It is merely cosmetic. Even if I find a folding knife of mine is rubbing the liner as it
closes, that doesn't bother me. DM

Off center does not affect the way it cuts, opens or closes. It is merely cosmetic. Even if I find a folding knife of mine is rubbing the liner as it
closes, that doesn't bother me. DM