Something I posted in WS&S that I thought you guys might like, too...

Was fiddling with my BK9 lastnight, thinking: "There has GOT to be a better way to store stuff in this suitcase on the front."

...and there was.

I studied for a moment, stuck my fingers down in the pouch and flared it out. Would it fit? By golly, it would.

So I got an Altoids tin kit out of my pack and tried to slide it down in there. No go. Something kept hindering the process. I figured out it was the plastic insert for the BK-13.

I tried sliding it out, but apparently it was sewn in. So, I used an old, cheap multitool I take fishing with me and pulled the insert out. The altoids tin kit slid in perfectly and even left room enough for a stick type knife sharpener, the BK13 (which is cord wrapped and has a loop big enough to use it as a necklace. On that loop is a boyscout flint & p38), and a diamond whetstone.

In the Altoids tin I have: About 10-20 feet or so of fishing line, hooks (in homemade blister paper: notebook paper with Scotch tape covering one side), snare wire, aspirin, ibuprofen, sting soothing thingie (it's a technical term), triple antibiotic ointment, itch relief, 10 tabs of Aqua Pure Plus (purifier and neutralizer--vaccuum sealed), signal mirror (which is glued into the lid of the Altoids tin), Bic Mini, Oven Bag (for water)--and I might even be forgetting a couple things.

Wrapped around the sheath at the bottom is about ~15-20 feet of para cord. Using a method of doubling the cord, then using the ladder loop to shorten it again.

Thought some of you might want to give this a try. I now have everything I need in ONE knife to get me out of a hairy situation. (this of course, counting the knowledge & skills I have as well)

Pictures coming a little later...