starting wrestling

I'm a freshman in high school, looking for another sport to play. I've decided on wrestling this winter for the school, but have never wrestled before. Any tips or helpful info on starting wrestling would be greatly appreciated, as I want to know as much as I can about training and beginning this for the firts time. Thanks for your help.

cardio cardio cardio. get lean. hydrate hydrate hydrate. do isometrics. You'll be wrestling in weight classes, so the more strenth & less mass you have, you'll be better off. listen to your coaches- they'll give you pointers on nutrition & strength training. Eat right & get plenty of sleep.

I wrestled from 7th grade thru college. Endurance is the key. If you don't pin your opponent quickly ride him hard and put him away wet.

A win is a win!!!

and SLAM them cross faces' in there!!!!!!.hard and fast!!

the harder you work the better you're going to be. give everything you have during every practice and every match and you'll be much happier in the end. also; don't just wrestle, become a student of the sport. watch film of both your matches and other matches to learn what works and what doesn't.

Patience and a good mental attitude are important, because you're going to be eating the mat a lot at first. Don't worry, this is normal. You have to be tenacious: never give up! Your confidence, like your strength and ability, will grow with experience.

alot of advice will be given by many of us, like cardiovascular training, etc. but I'll give you a bit of advice (take it or leave it) that is a bit less common. While cardio is well and good, don't neglect weight training either. Strength is important, but technique will be critical.