State of the Market (Spyderco Specifically)

CDHumiston

Gold Member
I've been collecting for many, many years and I've decided to move some of my collection. Specifically, Spyderco knives.

All are brand new in the boxes with all paperwork.

I don't know if people aren't buying, or my prices are too high or what, but I can't seem to move anything!

Spyderco knives have always been good sellers and collectible. I'm just curious.

Here's a link to one of my threads.

I'd like some honest opinions about what I'm selling and my pricing. Am I off base or what...

I looked at the two Knifejoy knives you have listed and one was $10 under msrp and the other was $30 over (I do understand that they are out of stock, but don’t know anything about the Spyderco secondary market). As a rule, any knife that isn’t selling is overpriced. You can only charge what the market demands.

I’m about to start listing some knives for sale myself, but haven’t done so in a while. A few years ago when I sold most of my CRK’s, Hinderers, and Shiro’s, even selling LNIB (as in I owned it, put it in my pocket for a few hours, and then listed it) I had to knock off $100 to get the knives to move. Otherwise, why buy from me instead of BNIB from a dealer? At a certain point you just have to price them so they move and you can recoup whatever you can. I’ll be taking a hit on all of mine here shortly, that’s for sure.

no politics, just economics.......

foreclosures are rising, credit card debt has been rising to record levels, auto loan delinquency and defaults have been rising to the highest levels in 30 years. corporations are reducing good paying jobs and scaling back spending. commercial loans defaults are rising rapidly. add in high food costs, fuel costs, auto and homeowner insurance costs, housing costs and on and on.......

doesnt leave a lot of disposable cash for knives or hobbys.