Steel snobs and 440a

i'm new(ish) to being a knife enthusiast (sp?), but mi've been doing as much research as possible, both here and all over the internet.

there seems to be a distinct dislike of 440a and 440b steels, with steels like 440c, ats-34 and cm 154 being preffered... why?

i have a SOG seal, and have had nothing but wonderful things to say about it to anyone who asks. to me, this knife holds a fantastic edge, but to others, 440a isn't a quality steel.

just wondering if sog are planning to use any other steels in the future... and if either yes or no, why?

thanks.

------------------
Conn
When your life flashe before your eyes...
makes sure there's somrthing interesting to watch.

I'm no steel expert so take my opinions with a grain of salt. However, I encourage you to do a search in the General Discussion's Blade Discussions forum.

About two weeks ago, I posted the thread, "How important is the heat treat?"

In the responses, many people knowledgeable about steels pointed out that arguing about "this steel is better", or "that steel is better" is pointless unless it has a good heat treat. That is, a well heat treated 440C could outperform a mediocre heat treated ATS-34.

Of course ATS-34, CPM 440V, D-2, etc. have more POTENTIAL in rigidity and edge holding over 440a and 440c IF and ONLY IF they are properly heat treated.

In addition, some people feel that it also depends on what you are using it for. Some people feel that 440C complements the hard use, and prying, often subjected on large fixed blades.

A lot has to do with product evolution too. There was a time when 440A was considered "high-end", then came better steels like AUS-8, ATS-34, BG-42 etc. Now, we are into tool steels like D-2, on up.

The last, and certainly most important, factor is individual needs. Some people can get along fine with 440A, and AUS-8.

CONCLUSION: 440A, in itself, is not a bad steel. It's just that there are better to be had if you want to spend the money.