Straight razor sharpening and my Edge Pro - Pic intensive

I posted this on Straightrazorplace.com and figured that I should post here as I started all my EP research from here.

Straight razor sharpening and my Edge Pro

Just a brief reader’s digest history... I have been collecting knives and sharpening them with an Edge Pro Apex for a while (120 grit - 6k grit). I have read the Edge Pro posts on this site and in no way do I want to start a "flame war". I wanted to see if I could use the Edge Pro because I have invested time in money in this system with my knives.

First off, I am very new to wet shaving and using a straight razor. I started using a Parker SR1 and could not resist the urge to buy a real straight razor. After visiting a local antique shop (and reading the beginners wiki) page I bought 2 razors: Bingham Quality and Giensen Forsthoff razor. I could have bought another 2 razors but I decided to stop myself.

20130420_140102.jpg

20130420_141555.jpg

20130420_141603.jpg

20130420_141629.jpg

20130420_141639.jpg

20130420_144125.jpg

20130420_144130.jpg

20130420_144137.jpg

20130420_144205.jpg

After looking at the edges with a 10x eye loupe I deemed them serviceable. By serviceable, I did not see any chipping or damage. I ran the blade on my thumbnail to check to any edge issues as well as running a cotton ball perpendicular to the edge to feel for issues on the edges. I started cleaning the Giesen Forsthoff with some polishing paste and a rag and some brasso. This was a first pass cleaning as I do not currently have any wet sanding paper.

Here is my EP setup.

20130421_102741.jpg

EP table setup

Understanding that the razor is a very thin edge blade, I thought about how to set the EP up so that the razor did not get bent/distorted and came up with the plastic card shim. The shim allows for a small section of the blade to hang off the EP platform. The second card is to provide a stop for the razor's edge so it can be placed on the EP consistently.