Surface Grinder Restoration & Belt Conversion WIP

I finally got found a surface grinder that was near me and in my price range. It is an older Delta-Rockwell circa 1951 Toolmaker grinder. I got it for 600$ delivered and placed in my shop which was a big deal for me since the machine weighs around 800lbs and I did not have the equipment needed to move it. It belonged to an older gentleman, a machinist by trade. This was in his home workshop but sadly he suffered a bad fall about a year ago (he is in his 80's) and had to move into a home. So that meant selling his house and his tools. :( His son also works in the trade (he is the one I dealt with) and got some of his Dad's tools but could not keep them all. We all know how things can accumulate in the shop don't we? So this is another incentive for me to do a good restoring and converting job since I would love for this gentleman come to the shop when it's all done so he could see that his tools (I also got a bandsaw and a drillpress) are still working hard and being taken care of. I know I sure would like that when I have to give up my tools someday.

So this will be partly to share the whole progress with you guys and as a future reference for someone who want to do the same. But it will also be for me to ask your help and advice, both of which I could not do without.

Let's start with a couple of pics of my garage/shop. As you can see, this will be the last machine that I can squeeze in there and even that will take a little bit of creative rearranging. Here you can see everything jammed to one side so we can maneuver the grinder in its place on the left.

And a pic with most everything put back in it's place. Still have to redo some of the lighting, shelves and add a duct for dust collection at the grinder but it looks like it will all fit. Let's call is cosy. ;-)

And finally the grinder itself. It needs a good cleaning but all in all it looks to be in pretty good shape.