Testing Weld Strength

I am still learning to weld, and would like some more information on how to test the strength of my welds without expensive equipment. I am using a Lincoln-Electric Weld-Pak 100, a wire feed welder that runs off of 110v. I don't have the MIG kit, yet anyway, so I am stuck doing flux core welds for now.

The latest test sample I welded up was a piece of 1" square tubing, with 1/16 wall thickness. I cut two 1' sections, and welded them back together. I then tried my best to break them apart. First I stuck them in my vice and tried to break the weld that way. Well, the vice is bolted to my workbench top, an old 2 x 6 plank. All I was able to do was rip the vice out, and split the board apart. Then I decided to wedge the tubing between the floor joists, and some other tubing bolted to the joists. Well I was able to hold myself up and support all my weight without breaking the weld.

I am out of ideas on how to insure that my welds are as strong as they could be. Is there anything else that I can try to test out the strength of my welds? Have these tests shown that they are strong enough, or should I test further?

Thanks in advance.

of course the best methods fall outside the parameter of no expensive equipment, but there are some good ways to see if the welds are good. Your destruction tests are good. If the piece fails at a point that is not the weld that is good. Another suggestion would be to cut the weld in half along its length. Look to see if you got full penetration and if there are slag pockets or voids. Or you can cut strips perpendiculat to the weld to see the cross section of the weld. Then bend them 180 degrees. Mild steel should do this. When you get the shield gas set up if you continue to run flux core wire you can get some very nice looking and clean welds.

WS