The perfect Bugout for me.....

TexMac

Gold Member
I just going to throw this out there and hope maybe Benchmade thinks about it. I would love to see a Bugout with a sheepsfoot blade. I love the weight, size, and way it disappears in my pocket. However, I’m a field technician and find a sheepsfoot blade best suits my needs. I sometimes carry a 555 buts it’s just a bit small and isn’t as good of a slicer as the Bugout’s high grind and thin stock. I generally am forced to carry a CRK Inkosi Insingo but it is a little too big and too heavy. I’ve also tried a Spyderco Delica Wharncliffe but it’s wide in the pocket and still has a stabby tip. I made a little sketch...this would be an awesome addition to the Bugout family. What do y’all think?
upload_2019-3-6_14-35-10.jpeg

Due to the lanyard “loop” on the Bugout handle, the point of your blade would probably hit.

I do love the sheepsfoot blade, and as a commercial plumber, that’s all I carry at work.

Yeah I thought about the lanyard hole. Probably would require a slightly shorter blade or some modification. I started my career as an electrician but now work as a pipeline technician and love a good sheepsfoot blade. They are few and far between, at least in high quality USA made knives. For several years I carried a modified s30v Kershaw leak which wasn’t bad and I also reground a m390 Kershaw dividend but both of those are assisted openers. I’d love a sheepsfoot blade axis lock knife.

If I could do a Bugout 2.0 I would ask for blade/handle tweak so that when the knife is closed there wasn't that notch between the end of the blade and handle. I would also like a bit of jimping on the blade. So basically a Bugout with a few pointers from the griptilian line when it comes to where the blade meets the handle.

GGy0uBj.png