Throwing Flying Steel knives Fedin style

hi guys, here is my video on throwing multiple Flying Steel knives no-spin Fedin style. Still learning the technique (and loving it) and also working on my accuracy. One of these days I hope to get some time and create a video on the end grain target you see in the video (it was a real pain in the caster to build but its definitely worth it)

[video=youtube;fOnggiWBQ0E]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOnggiWBQ0E[/video]

Last edited:
The first knife - from 3 meters (10 ft) , the last couple of knives -from about 6 meters (19 ft). Don't have any more room to go any further (space is a limiter)

Last edited:
Very nice indeed!

Can someone compare and contrast this 'Fedin' style with the more familiar 1/4 turn 'Thorn' style. Is there a difference?

-Phil

I'm no expert, but I'll try to summarize how it works for me:

Definitely a difference.

I've tried both styles and basically use "Thorn" whenever possible but seem to naturally move toward "Russian" when I get tired or if there is limited space. I see three main differences in the technique personally. 1. Where (and how far) the knife starts out behind the body, 2. How far the arm is extended as the knife is brought forward, 3. The release difference which requires a sort of whip snapping motion (part of the forward propulsion) at the release for "Russian" while "Thorn" release is a more natural use of the light grip, breaking wrist, and guiding finger to just direct the handle as it naturally comes out of the hand due to the leverage of the arm.