To Case or Not to Case

As I wrote once before, I am just getting into slip joint collecting, so please forgive my ignorance. Now, I have been more than impressed with the likes of Schatt & Morgan, Canal Street, Queen etc., but what about Case? I love the variety that Case offers, but is the quality there? The reason I ask, is because I have seen a few comments that suggest that Case just isn't what it used to be. Any truth to such a rumor?

I think it would be fair to say that for the most part the quality is pretty good but when you buy via the internet your experience can be hit or miss. (I've had to send a couple back. However, that is the exception rather than the rule in my personal experience.)

I prefer the case CV (chrome vanadium) offerings so I am somewhat limited in what I purchase unless I buy a vintage knife or two to supplement the current CV offerings.

I do think the older knives featured better overall construction, fit & finish, as well as much better backspring tension.

The older knives were more smoothly fitted and a bit nicer in polish of internal areas, but thats not to say the modern Case knives are not very good. As mentioned, they can vary a bit, so its best to buy them where you can see and handle the knife you are going to buy.

A Case knife is a great buy considering not only the quality of the knife, but the factory support and backing you will get. Having a Case is like being a member of a close knit family. No matter how many years goes by, if there is a problem, the very nice folks at Case will fix your knife, and even re-condition an old one for a very resonable fee. I had a new blade put in a Case pocket knife that was more than 50 years old, so it could serve yet another generation. Try that with a knife made overseas.

And there is an unbelievable choice of handle materials in different models with SS or the great CV. I truely believe that Case CV is one of the best steels around for a pocket knife.