trouble wedling up cable

Okay, since I'm new to this forging stuff, please bear with my ignorance.

I never thought much of cable damascus...until I saw some more of Wayne Goddard's work and his video. Plus, with just a hammer I figured I could get some to weld (without a press or power hammer).

I have some good cable (1095 I believe). I put it in the forge and got it orange, took it out and put on a HEAVY coating of anhydrous borax. Put it back in and waited until a coat hanger stuck to it.

Took it out and tap,tap,tapped on it. Flux, fire...took it out and twisted it tight.

Flux, fire, pound...a few times.

Wayne suggested that I fold it, but only once. This is where my problem seems to be.

I drew it out and pounded it as flat as my forging newbie self could, cut a fold line in it, scraped off the scale, fluxed it, and put it back in the forge.

Took it out, bent it over, squared it up, more flux...back in the fire.

I took it out and tapped it pretty lightly all the way around. No weld.

Flux, more fire, and beat the heck out of it. Looked like it welded.

Ground a blade out of the billet, and found a big fat ugly void in it.

Thoughts???

I know I'm not going to get it perfect off the start, but I'd like to eliminate as much wasted time as possible.

Thanks,
Nick

I have learned that when attempting a fold you need to let the stock air cool to room temperature, cut, sand to bare steel!, and restack and tack weld, then forge just like you were starting off with plain layers...

Any firescale inside the weld will cause a shut... no matter how much flux you use, there is no where for that firescale to go, so clean is the way IMO....

Let us see when ya get soemthing that works! I love all the different stuff i see being made from all the different makers out there...

Learning is half the fun.... only half.
smile.gif

Alan...

------------------
If a Man talks in the forest, and there is no Woman around to hear him, is he still wrong?