V-Grind Plunge Fun

Burchtree

KnifeMaker & Moderator
Well folks, I'm working on a full v-flat ground bowie. I've never done one before, but have been practicing on some scrap metal. My problem is that I'm not happy with my plunges. They are just 90-degree cuts. I'd like to get some rounded radius action going (I hope that explains it) but I can't get it. I tried letting some of the belt overhand the platen, but all it does is cut into the plunge instead of rounding it. Any suggestions? (besides practice, practice, etc. ;) )

I'd feather it
but some guys use a flattened round file to get the rounded part..
flatened about 20% I'd say
anyone else??

Kill the edge of the belt (knock off/wear out) to approximately 3/16"-1/4" from the edge. Use some old steel or a crock stick, or whatever to do this. Make it gradually blend into the new part of the belt, and then adjust your rollover on the radiused platten edge to your satisfaction.

DO what RARAnney said, learned this by accident doing something else with belt hanging off edge(can't reember what).

Just don't(at least in my experience) expect this belt to again track naturally(ie over wheels and platen without overhanging) as once you break the edge liek that, it wants to stay off the edge of the platen.

But it makes for a nice rounder cut.

Course, i still ahven't mastered the plunge. :)

it's not tracking, I adjusted tracking on it, jsut with the cheap belt it wanted to saty folded over. Whether that was symptom of cheap belt, or not being completely broken in, dont' know. belt was too clogged/dull even for polishing a convex edge anymore, I ditched it last time I was working on grinder.

do what RANNY said. also you can round the palten or piece of pryocerm too the desired raduis. and of course theres that practice thing again:D all joking aside, it takes time to figure out what will work for you. happy plunging!

BruchTree