Victorinox chef knife tips

I have seen your Bess edge guide. What I need to know as a noob I think is something
about steel hardness. My Victorinox 10 inch doesn't seem to take an edge.

The story on this is the knife is old and rarely cared for. A belly developed and I
removed quite a bit of materila to go back to flat. Since then my very simple commercial
products or homebrews do not restore the edge well

Perhaps I got excited about Ryky Tran's burrfection videos found on youtube.

Just looking for any tips using simple product. I'm even lower on the food chain
with the man who was given a Tool Sharp.

In just trying again to start over today I was able to establish some rough edge
with an Accushart hand flint tool I can see a jagged edge up close.

Is there a way, since I am not going to buy anything, to clean up the edge with
a sandaper series? I think my problem is getting control of the process not achieved yet.
Please, no youtubes. I've had all the paper cutting I take. The goal is to cut red peppers not sushi.

cheers.

I have seen your Bess edge guide. What I need to know as a noob I think is something
about steel hardness. My Victorinox 10 inch doesn't seem to take an edge.

The story on this is the knife is old and rarely cared for. A belly developed and I
removed quite a bit of materila to go back to flat. Since then my very simple commercial
products or homebrews do not restore the edge well

Perhaps I got excited about Ryky Tran's burrfection videos found on youtube.

Just looking for any tips using simple product. I'm even lower on the food chain
with the man who was given a Tool Sharp.

In just trying again to start over today I was able to establish some rough edge
with an Accushart hand flint tool I can see a jagged edge up close.

Is there a way, since I am not going to buy anything, to clean up the edge with
a sandaper series? I think my problem is getting control of the process not achieved yet.