What do you think about the STRIDER axe?

Midget

Gold Member
Hey axe, tomahawk, and hatchet forumites. I'm pretty new to the concept of axes and hatches, so you'll have to be patient with me.

What do you all think about the production Strider axe?

str_axe-small.jpg

Does it look like its worth 475 to you? What do you suppose are the benefits of the chisel grind and S7 tool steel? What would you use something like this for?

Just curious. Thanks!

Midget said:

It satifies all the perceived chopping needs of a Mall Ninja

Does it look like its worth 475 to you?

No

What do you suppose are the benefits of the chisel grind and S7 tool steel?

S7 Good, Chisel grind, bad. If the Swedes dont do it, its not worth doing.

What would you use something like this for?

Impressing other Mall Ninja?

I think I would like the handle to be a bit longer. Paracord handle looks functional. I would have to play with it a bit to make an honest call.

Best
Dwight

Midget said:
Does it look like its worth 475 to you? What would you use something like this for?

Just curious. Thanks!
Code:
Edited for abrasiveness.
Doug:)

I'm not really up on strider, but they have a good rep. I wouldn't pay 400 plus for an axe when there is cheaper ones out there. Ones that are just as good or better. Look at some hays axes or K5 if you like the all steel construction like I do. This looks too pretty to really use anywhere, and at 475 It's more of an investement or showpiece than a tool. If you don't care about destroying a 400 dollar axe I would bet it would be a pretty functional camp axe.

forrest long said:
I would bet it would be a pretty functional camp axe.

Dont bet money, if you like sore hands and unsticking it from logs then it will be perfect.

A GB would outclass this so many times it would be ashamed to show its face.