What if I am traveling with my knife?

Hello everyone!

First of all sorry about my English this is not my native language (I really try to improve my skills) but I’m try to explain my situation.

I work as a long distance driver on company cargo van. So most of the time I’m going around the states and sometimes drive to Canada. I have a large fixed blade knife with 6.3 inches. Here it is:

278_Image_1322827933_skorpion_IMG_0734.jpg

I’m a little confused about knife laws in different states. As I understand only in Connecticut I cannot carry this knife at all open or conceal or even in my car (or I can? Correct me if I’m wrong). In other states I'm pretty sure that I can carry it open but I'm not sure about large cities like NY, LA etc.

So I’m asking for your advice guys. What should I do in my case? Is there any federal law for those who traveling (or working) around states or I should abide by the law of each state where I’m going?

Thanks a lot!

Last edited:
Not a lawyer.
The AKTI site has useful information that you could look at as a starting point.
In Michigan that would (likely) not be legal. Fixed blades have very specific exceptions, use for hunting would be one.
Detroit and Lansing have their own specific knife laws as well.
Bottom line, an attorney would be were I would seek answers.
Which means finding a lawyer in each state you travel to get the right information.

Thanks for answering.
Sometimes I drive through three or four different states in one day. It's hard to find a lawyer in each of them(

Los Angeles County, you can carry a single edge fixed blade openly. I see this where I am all the time.